So when do the Lizard-guys and humies take to the field. The orcs are notoriously impatient and with a long weekend. Maybe a game can be had for the greenskins!
And what of the Dark Elves vs. the Dwarfs? The weekend perhaps?
and re:Scoring rules
WTF! Ah come on Dean. I can see a ref requirement for Dave and Byron. Sorry guys. But Ivan. He should have the rules down (just make sure he prints out the rules before playing!). I think the only rule Dave and I forgot for two kick-offs was the bounce off of a kick-off. Neither played a factor but I'm sure Ivan's got the rules down.
But there was one scenario that occurred which we need for future clarification. The player who has the ball is blitzed by a player and is knocked into the crowd. Yeah, I know the ball handler shouldn't go near the sideline and once Dave did it he voiced a pretty good Bart-like, "Doh!"
Now does the ball get thrown in immediately (as what the rules read) and then the blitzer can decide how to move after. Or should the blitzer finish their move, prior to seeing where the ball is going? I interpreted that as the ball gets thrown in right away and then the blitzer continues their move. Dean, your thoughts?
If anyone asks me my opinion (which you didn't) I would agree that the ball gets thrown in immediately, and then you continue with your blitz move. I didn't look at EITHER version of the rules I have available to me, but this interpretation is worse for Dave, so that's the way I think the game should be played.
<<<Ten "Steamboats" later>>>
Sorry Ivan, my question was aimed at Dean as he's the Commish and by the book's rules, any rule interpretations must be decided by the Commish. He has the final say, no argument.
As for Dave, he rolled some pretty good rolls (Beastman makes two consecutive dodge rolls needing 4 or higher) and pretty bad rolls (double skulls on a block or the infamous pushing with no re-rolls and getting a one). To be honest, Dave's Minotaur was an absolute terror in the game. He likely rolled three-four of his armor breaking rolls without Mighty Blow, so I got off real lucky in getting no casualties. The worse was a KO of my gobbo when he got +2 to his Injury Roll (due to Stunty status and the Mighty Blow).
My favorite "Chaos happens" rule moment but this was blamed on Ivan by Dave<<don't deny it man>>, was the +1 to recover from KO if you have an Apothecary. My reaction was a "WTF"?!? I'll blame that one on Ivan bringing the old rule-book from the boxed set to their last game. Tsk-tsk. Print it out man. Photo-copy ink is not poison. Or be kind to Dee and maybe she'll do one up for ya. I saw Byron's, its skookum.
Coach Vink says if my black orc can make a bad move causing a Dodge roll, needing a 5, which he got, then Gork and Mork are blessing the Iron Rock Maulers.
Dean cleared things up with:
My favorite "Chaos happens" rule moment but this was blamed on Ivan by Dave<<don't deny it man>>, was the +1 to recover from KO if you have an Apothecary. My reaction was a "WTF"?!?
And this is why I want to be there to ensure everyone plays by the same rules and no one gets burned and PO'd. I had assumed that everyone would have read the pdf rules (the link that I had sent months ago) at least a couple of times before starting the season, but I was so, so wrong. L
Now does the ball get thrown
in immediately (as what the rules read) and then the blitzer can decide how to move after. Or should the blitzer finish their move, prior to seeing where
the ball is going? I interpreted that as the ball gets thrown in right away and then the blitzer continues their move. Dean, your thoughts?
Ball gets thrown in immediately before continuing your move.
P.S. Byron and I intend to get together Tues or Wed afternoon at his place to play our Week 3 game. If Ivan & Matt want to join, we can both get our games in.
An update to my responses below. Did Ivan buy a Bloodweiser Babe as an inducement in addition to Helmut Wulf (he could have afforded it)? That's the only thing I can think of that would have given him the +1 to KO roll.
Ball gets thrown in immediately before continuing your move, but you still decided whether or not to follow up before this happens. Deciding whether or not to follow up always takes place before anything else.